Butterfly release ceremony a big success at Calumet Park Cemetery in Merrillville…

Click on "continue reading" for a slideshow of the event

The third annual Butterfly Release Ceremony was a big success at Calumet Park Cemetery in Merrillville on Saturday, July 30th.  Approximately 250 people attended this ceremony that opened with a prayer by Board of Directors member Paul Vogel.  Gavin Vogel played two songs on a recorder.  Leslie Vogel followed with a beautiful tribute to Jan Hahn, in whose memory

this butterfly garden is dedicated.  Daniel Moran wrote and sang a touching song entitled “God, I don’t understand” (see lyrics below), accompanied by Joe Klaypak on the guitar and John Ochoa on the keyboards.  Joe then sang “Who you’d be today” by Kenny Chesney.  Rob Vogel read the legend of the butterfly followed by everyone gathering around the butterfly garden to let their wishes go to the heavens.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

God, I don’t understand

Every night when the sun goes down, I lie awake alone and scared.

Think of all the dreams we’ve known, all the hopes that we once shared.

Now my bed is my enemy, broken lives beyond repair.

Screaming quiet crushing me, oh my God this is so unfair.

God, I don’t understand, living now a broken man,

Doin ’bout the best I can, trusting is my only plan.

Taste you in each breath I take, every time I close my eyes…

See you in the works of God, hiding in a thin disguise.

Roses with a scent so pure, wings of gentle butterflies…

Wonder why He took you home, leaving me these tears to cry.

God, I don’t understand, living now a broken man,

Doin ’bout the best I can, trusting is my only plan.

A mom, a dad, a baby boy…a little girl, now a broken toy.

Since they’re gone we miss the noise, living life with little joy.

Here we are with our butterflies, whispering our wish to them,

In hopes that when we set them free, we’ll find a little peace within.

God, we don’t understand, bless us with Your healing hands.

Send us grace to understand, this is not what we had planned.

Comments Off on Butterfly release ceremony a big success at Calumet Park Cemetery in Merrillville…

Filed under Calumet Park Cemetery in Merrillville Indiana, Calumet Park Funeral Chapel in Merrillville Indiana, Events, Programs, Special promotions, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.